HPhil Seminar: 13 May 2021

May 13, 2021

The HPhil (History of Philosophy) Research Group of the Centre of Philosophy of the University of Lisbon announces the 2020/21 edition of the its permanent seminar on the history of philosophy, devoted to the reading and discussion of seminal philosophical works.

In the next session, Professor Paul Studtmann (Davidson College) will give a lecture entitled “Aristotle’s Category of Quality: A Regimented Interpretation”.

The conference will be streamed via Zoom (click here), on May 13, 2021, at 5pm (12:00 EDT / 17:00 WEST / 18:00 CEST / 11:00 CDT). All are welcomed to attend.

*

O Grupo de Investigação HPhil (História da Filosofia) do Centro de Filosofia da Universidade de Lisboa promove, na edição 2020/21 do Seminário Permanente em História da Filosofia, a leitura e discussão de Obras Fundamentais da Filosofia.

Na próxima sessão, o professor Paul Studtmann (Davidson College) apresentará uma conferência com o título “Aristotle’s Category of Quality: A Regimented Interpretation”.

A sessão terá lugar via streaming, no dia 13 de Maio de 2021, às 17h, pelo que os interessados deverão aceder, no dia e na hora da mesma, a esta ligação.

*

Abstract

In chapter eight of the Categories, Aristotle lists and discusses four species under the genus quality. Commentators have typically taken the four named species as the highest species under the genus quality. Although such an interpretation is naturally suggested by Aristotle’s discussion, it leaves Aristotle open to the charge of having provided an arbitrary and unsystematic list of species. In this paper, I offer an alternative interpretation of the genus/species structure in the category of quality that goes some way toward removing the appearance of arbitrariness in the category of quality.